Updated 2010-Some Ben and Jerry’s flavours are halal. Check out the blog posts of 2010.Thank you.
If u wonder whether HAAGEN DAZs and BEN & JERRY is HALAL….
Subject: RE: Enquiry regarding Haagen Dazs Ice Cream
Thank you for your email to us on the subject of “Enquiry regarding Haagen Dazs Ice Cream”.
We are pleased to inform you that although Häagen-Dazs is not specifically certified Halal, it is made under processes which meet very stringent sanitary and quality requirements.
The only animal products in Häagen-Dazs products are fresh cream, skimmed milk and egg yolk. None of our ingredients are derived from pigs. The gelling agent used in our products is plant based (pectin).
Muslims may wish to avoid Häagen-Dazs products containing alcohol for example Baileys ice cream and Häagen-Dazs Baileys Stick Bar products which contain less than 0.5% alcohol per 100 ml of product. For your information, some of our ice cream (e.g. Vanilla based) contain a very small amount of alcohol (0.20%) due to the flavor which is alcohol based.
Please be advised that ingredient labels of our products should always be read prior to consumption to determine content.
Hope this information is useful to you.
We look forward to your continued support of Häagen-Dazs.
The Häagen-Dazs Team
p.s: Please take note that this is not a chain email. It is written by a close friend of mine writing in to Haagen Dazs enquiring on its HALALness.
BEN & JERRY..
Thank you for your inquiry. Our ice cream, frozen yogurt, and sorbet do not contain any animal based products, but they are not certified Halal. Most of our products contain vanilla extract or extract for natural flavorings, which contain trace amounts of alcohol. We believe any amount of alcohol in our products would keep them from being Halal.We hope this information helps you to make a decision whether or not to try our products. (from here )
Disclaimer: I took no responsibility for the above mentioned info. This is for ur knowledge and awareness.Your body, ur responsibility.